es it fr de en pl

Afternoon with Strauss

For the 18th time, the Cracow Saltworks Museum Wieliczka organizes the summer cycle of concerts called “Afternoon with Strauss.” The inaugural concert will be held on June 26, 2011 at 4.00 p.m. in the courtyard of the Saltworks Castle.
Summer meetings at the courtyard of the Saltworks Castle (Cracow Saltworks Museum Wieliczka)are a true feast for connoisseurs (and connoisseurs/amateurs) of classical music. Year by year, the musical genius of the Austrian conductor, violinist and composer brings together hundreds of people who listen to his music performed by modern musicians. In the year marking the 60th anniversary, the Castle courtyard will be filled with sounds of classical compositions performed by the “Obligato” Strauss Orchestra conducted by Jerzy Sobeńko; the orchestra will be accompanied by singers from the Cracow Opera and Philharmonic Hall. The artists, the scene arranged in the fashion of the old Viennese garden and J. Strauss looking from a big screen will make sure that the guests “will be transferred” to the world of the 19th century Vienna where waltzes, polkas and marches reigned. The concert at the end of the cycle will be dignified by performance given by the singers Monika Węgiel and Tadeusz Szlenkier, whose voices will resound in the unique scenery of the underground chamber of A. Długosz at the depth of 135 metres. Many people cannot imagine summer evenings without the music of Strauss resounding in the Castle and in the underground section of the Wieliczka museum. You are heartily welcome. Subsequent concerts will be held on: 31.07.2011 and 28.08.2011 at 4.00 courtyard of the Saltworks Castle. The cycle will end with the finale concert on 25.09.2011 in the Alfons Długosz chamber in the mine at 4.00. p.m. Media patronage: Dziennik Polski, Radio Kraków, TVP Kraków, Modny Kraków, TTG
  • Program regionalny
  • województwo maloposkie
  • Unia Europejska
The following Project is cofinanced by the European Union under the Małopolska Regional Operational Programme for the years 2007 – 2013