es it fr de en pl
Historical Museum of the Municipality of Krakow

Historical Museum of the Municipality of Krakow

The Barbican

Basztowa St.

Opening hours
April – October: open daily 10.30–6.00 p.m.
November – March: closed;

www.mhk.pl
The Barbican is the most interesting historic part of the mediaeval fortifications of Krakow, and one of the few of its type in Europe to survive to our times. Built in 1498–1499 of brick and partially of stone, it was a kind of spacious tower with four levels of chequered embrasures and 7 watchtowers.

The walls were virtually impervious to artillery fire. For a long time the building was an integral part of St. Florian’s Gate, with which it was connected by a long “neck”. The Barbican was surrounded with a crescent-shaped moat. The outer gate of the Barbican, called Kleparska Gate, housed a drawbridge. For many years it was an extremely important element in the city’s defences. It successfully defended Krakow during the sieges against the armies of Archduke Maximilian Habsburg in 1587, against Swedish troops in 1655, and Russian soldiers in 1772. In the first half of the 19th century the building was saved from demolition thanks to the efforts of Free City of Krakow Senators Prof. Feliks Radzwański and Jan Librowski.
Back
 
Facebook
  • Program regionalny
  • województwo maloposkie
  • Unia Europejska
The following Project is cofinanced by the European Union under the Małopolska Regional Operational Programme for the years 2007 – 2013