es it fr de en pl
The Krakow Salt Works Museum at Wieliczka

The Krakow Salt Works Museum at Wieliczka

Wieliczka, 8 Zamkowa St.

Opening hours
Underground exhibition (3rd level of the salt mine) inclusive in one ticket with the tourist route:
November – March: 8.00 a.m.–5.00 p.m.
April – October: 7.30 a.m.–7.30 p.m.
Closed on New Year, Easter Sunday, 1 Nov and 24, 25, 31 Dec.

Salt Works Castle at 8 Zamkowa St.:
September – April every day except Mondays and Sundays: 9.00 a.m.–3.00 p.m.
May – August every day except Mondays: 9.00 a.m.–8.00 p.m.
Closed on New Year, Easter Sunday, Corpus Christi, 1 Nov and 24, 25, 26, 31 Dec.
On Saturdays admission is free

www.muzeum.wieliczka.pl
The Krakow Saltworks Museum at Wieliczka is one of the greatest mining museums in Europe. It was founded in 1951 and has two permanent exhibitions: the underground one, on the third level of the historic salt mine in Wieliczka, located in 17 original chambers (19th and 20th c.), in the site entered in 1978 into the first UNESCO List; and the one in the old Saltworks Castle, which was the seat of the salt industry management from the end of the 13th century to 1945, the only such site in Poland with a Gothic tower (14th c.) and the oldest pit shaft (mid-13th century).

The underground exhibition features a unique collection of treadmills (horse powered extracting machines) of 3 different types: Polish (17th c.), Saxon (18th c.) and Hungarian (18th c.). A particularly precious part of the collection is the Polish treadmill – the only one its kind that has survived to our times, the oldest and largest of the machines that are stored at the Wieliczka mine. Also on display is the horn of the Diggers Brotherhood (1534) – the symbol of the mine’s wealth, considered one of the greatest treasures of the museum at Wieliczka, and early- Renaissance Polish art. It is made of an auroch’s horn and mounted in silver, probably by Andrzej Durer.

In the Saltworks Castle one can also see the greatest collection of salt cellars in Poland – the oldest, Baroque saltcellar made of silver in the 17th century is from Augsburg. The most interesting include the porcelain salt-cellars with figurines of African girls carrying baskets, made by the oldest European manufacturer in Meissen.
Back
 

News

Facebook
  • Program regionalny
  • województwo maloposkie
  • Unia Europejska
The following Project is cofinanced by the European Union under the Małopolska Regional Operational Programme for the years 2007 – 2013