es it fr de en pl
The Krakow Salt Works Museum at Wieliczka

The Krakow Salt Works Museum at Wieliczka

Wieliczka, 8 Zamkowa St.

Opening hours
Underground exhibition (3rd level of the salt mine) inclusive in one ticket with the tourist route:
November – March: 8.00 a.m.–5.00 p.m.
April – October: 7.30 a.m.–7.30 p.m.
Closed on New Year, Easter Sunday, 1 Nov and 24, 25, 31 Dec.

Salt Works Castle at 8 Zamkowa St.:
September – April every day except Mondays and
Sundays: 9.00 a.m.–3.00 p.m.; May – August every day except Mondays: 9.00 a.m.–8.00 p.m.
Closed on New Year, Easter Sunday, Corpus Christi, 1 Nov and 24, 25, 26, 31 Dec.
On Saturdays admission is free

www.muzeum.wieliczka.pl
The Krakow Saltworks Museum at Wieliczka is one of the greatest mining museums in Europe. It was founded in 1951 and has two permanent exhibitions: the underground one, on the third level of the historic salt mine in Wieliczka, located in 17 original chambers (19th and 20th c.), in the site entered in 1978 into the first UNESCO List (within the area of 8000 sq m over 2500 original and unique exhibits are displayed); and the one in the Mediaeval Salt Works Castle, which was the seat of the salt industry management from the end of the 13th century to 1945, the only such site in Poland.

The items gathered in the underground exhibition tell the story of the miners, their culture and tradition, but first of all they show their methods of work, the tools they used, and the ever better machines that are proof of the constant evolution of engineering solutions. While visiting successive chambers we get to know the processes that lead to the creation of salt in Wieliczka, the different types of salt, among them the beautiful crystals from the Crystal Caverns. We discover the oldest, reaching back 5500 years, evidence of salt production: brewing (i.e. boiling) salty water, thanks to the reconstructed salt brewery from the Neolithic period. We can see a unique display of treadmills – horsepowered extraction machines and other mining tools and equipment. Also displayed here is the horn of the Diggers Brotherhood from 1534 – a precious relic of early Renaissance goldsmith art, given to the miners by the king’s official in charge of the salt mines. We get to know the mining sanctuaries of Saurau and Maria Teresa – the most beautiful of the chambers open to the public with copious preserved evidence of mining.

The Krakow Salt Works Museum also has exhibitions at the Salt Works Castle, the former seat of the mine’s management. It is the oldest building complex above land connected with the history of mining in Wieliczka. The Middle Castle is open to the public – the House among the Salt Works (13th–14th c.) – the oldest building of the complex. It comprised among others the Magistrate Chamber – today the Gothic Chamber, the most beautiful one in the Castle (the former forum of the chamberlain’s court), the Royal Chamber (the King stopped in this chamber while visiting the Salt Works from the 14th century to 1620), the chambers where salt was sold, and those where precious items connected with the Salt Works were stored. In the courtyard one can visit a castle tower and a section of the city walls (14th c.) as well as the oldest pit shaft (mid-13th c.) with a moving model of an extracting machine. The Castle houses both permanent and temporary exhibitions. Deserving special attention is the greatest collection of salt-cellars in Poland.
Back
 

News

Facebook
  • Program regionalny
  • województwo maloposkie
  • Unia Europejska
The following Project is cofinanced by the European Union under the Małopolska Regional Operational Programme for the years 2007 – 2013