es it fr de en pl
The “Wieliczka” Salt Mine – Tourist Route

The “Wieliczka” Salt Mine – Tourist Route

Wieliczka, 10 Daniłowicza St.

Opening hours
Daily
April – October: 7.30 a.m.– 7.30 p.m.
November – March: 8.00 a.m.– 5.00 p.m.
Holy Saturday: 7.30 a.m.– 1.45 p.m.
Closed on New Year, Easter Sunday, 1 Nov and 24, 25, 31 Dec

www.kopalnia.pl
Wieliczka Salt Mine is the only mining establishment active continuously since the Middle Ages in the world, and one of the most famous of Poland’s tourist attractions. In 1978 the mine was entered into UNESCO’s First World List of Cultural and Natural Heritage. While strolling through Wieliczka Salt Mine one can admire unique chambers with the preserved evidence of mining works, a collection of original mining equipment, small underground brine lakes, and salt-hewn chapels filled with unique sculptures and reliefs, and among them the most beautiful, St. Kinga’s Chapel. The chapel is located 101 m below the ground level, and is the most magnificent and structurally richest underground temple in the world, a masterpiece carved from a block of salt in the 2nd half of the 19th century. For nearly a hundred years it has been furnished by the Wieliczka miner sculptors. St Kinga’s Chapel is a peculiar gallery of salt art. Wide salt stairs, from the top of which one can admire the chapel in its full splendour, lead inside. Opposite the entrance to the chapel is the main altar with a statue of St. Kinga, carved by Józef Markowski (1895-1920). The walls of the chapel are adorned with salt reliefs featuring various scenes from the New Testament. It is also here that the only existing underground salt-carved monument of John Paul II can be found.
Back
 
Facebook
  • Program regionalny
  • województwo maloposkie
  • Unia Europejska
The following Project is cofinanced by the European Union under the Małopolska Regional Operational Programme for the years 2007 – 2013