es it fr de en pl
National Museum in Krakow

National Museum in Krakow

The Gallery of the 19th century Polish art in Sukiennice

Main Market Square 3

Opening hours:
Monday - closed
Tuesday - Saturday 10.00 a.m. - 8.00 p.m.*
Sunday 10.00 a.m. - 6.00 p.m.*

* The last visitors are admitted into the exhibitions half an hour before the Museum closes.


Terrace/Cafe Szal:
All Week: 10 a.m. - 11 p.m.

The Sukiennice is a mercantile hall built in the thirteenth century in the middle on the Main Square. It was rebuilt in the Gothic style in the fourteenth century, and in the mid sixteenth century was transformed in the Renaissance style. In the  nineteenth century it took on a symbolic role - balls and patriotic ceremonies were held here. The halls of the Sukiennice's first floor became the first site of the National Museum in Krakow.

The gallery is divided into four rooms: the Enlightenment, the Romanticism, the Academism and Realism Room, and the Polish Impressionism and Early Symbolism Room. The paintings here are of historical and battle scenes, alongside portraits and landscapes, and are arranged in chronological and thematic order. The gallery's patron is King Stanisław August Poniatowski, being a great funder of the arts initiated the development of Polish painting. A special place was afforded to "the Torches of Nero" by Henryk Siemiradzki, the painting, a gift from the artist, which began the museum's collection. The collection contains masterpieces by the most eminent painters active in Poland: Jan Piotr Norblin, Marcello Bacciarelli, Piotr Michałowski, Henryk Rodakowski, Jan Matejko, Jacek Malczewski, Jan Stanisławski, Józef Chełmoński, Aleksander and Maksymilian Gierymski. Also on display are sculptures by great Polish artists Jakub Tatarkiewicz, Pius Weloński, Antoni Kurzawa and Antoni Madeyski.

wszystkie galerie z muzeum
  • Program regionalny
  • województwo maloposkie
  • Unia Europejska
The following Project is cofinanced by the European Union under the Małopolska Regional Operational Programme for the years 2007 – 2013