es it fr de en pl
Salt mines, Highland castles and a Highland fortress to end all fortresses

Salt mines, Highland castles and a Highland fortress to end all fortresses

Nowy Wiśnicz Castle

Visiting
Nowy Wiśnicz Castle:

open
Apr. – Oct.:
Mon. – Thurs. 9.00 AM – 4.00 PM;
Fri. 9.00 AM – 5.00 PM;
Sat. 10.00 AM – 5.00 PM;
Sun. and public holidays 10.00 AM – 6.00 PM;

Nov. – Mar.:
daily, 9.00 AM – 4.00 PM. The castle is currently run by the town of Nowy Wiśnicz.

Getting there
The castle is 45 km from Krakow: take Road No. E40, heading south-east to Bochnia, then follow Road 965 to the south. There is a free car park by the castle gate.
The formidable residence of the Kmita and Lubomirski families in Nowy Wiśnicz still inspires awe today. As to the riches it must once have concealed, they can now only be imagined, since, during the ‘Deluge’ of 1655, the incursive Swedes took 150 wagons of plundered booty away from here! And then, imagine this… with the thought of the castle’s property, its goods and its chattels, in mind, the garrison had earlier surrendered without a fight, despite the fact that it had six hundred, superbly armed mercenaries at its disposal, that the modern ramparts held 80 cannon and that there were sufficient reserves of ammunition and food to hold out for three years!

The castle’s origins stretch back to the 15th century, when representatives of the Kmita family moved their defensive seat here. It was an initiative on the part of Piotr Kmita which led to the Renaissance rebuilding of the 16th century. The building of two new towers was amongst the alterations which took place at that time, as was the upward extension of the castle by the addition of an extra storey. Post- 1593, the castle was bought by representatives of the Lubomirski family. In the mid-seventeenth century, Stanisław Lubormirski surrounded the Renaissance building with fortification ramparts, creating the type of residence known as palazzo in fortezza, or fortified palace. The work was directed and overseen by the Italian architect, Maciej Trapola; his house stands on Wiśnicz town square to this day.

The castle, reclaimed by the Lubomirski, has now been undergoing renovation work for many years; however, part of the interior is open to visitors. Amongst the artefacts on display here are three-dimensional models of Małopolska’s best-known castles, including Wawel, Pieskowa Skała, Niedzica and Nowy Wiśnicz itself.

What else is worth seeing?
From the castle walls, there is a superb view of the stronghold’s Carmelite monastery, built in the 17th century on the neighbouring hill. Unfortunately, it is impossible to visit it, since it now houses a prison. Between the castle and the monastery stands a small, wooden manor house, known as Koryznówka, where Jan Matejko, the famed Polish painter, often stayed, the wife of the manor’s owner being Matejko’s sister-in-law. The manor currently houses a museum devoted to the painter.

The Koryznówka Museum of Jan Matejko Memorabilia
tel.: 0048 14 6128347

http://www.muzeum.tarnow.pl

open
Tue. – Sat. 10.00 AM – 2.00 PM
Sun. 11.00 AM – 3.00 PM
Back
 
FOR VISITORS
wszystkie galerie z muzeum
«
»
Facebook
  • Program regionalny
  • województwo maloposkie
  • Unia Europejska
The following Project is cofinanced by the European Union under the Małopolska Regional Operational Programme for the years 2007 – 2013