es it fr de en pl
In Renaissance Galleries

In Renaissance Galleries

Pieskowa Skała Castle

Practical information

Visiting The Pieskowa Skała Castle Museum
Sułoszowa
tel.: 0048 12 3896004

http://www.pieskowaskala.eu
pieskowa.skala@neostrada.pl

open
May – Sept.:
Thurs. 9.00 AM – 5.00 PM,
Fri. 9.00 AM – 1.00 PM,
Sat. and Sun. 10.00 AM – 6.00 PM;

Apr. and Oct.:
Tue. – Thurs. and Sat. – Sun. 10.00 AM – 4.00 PM and 10.00 AM – 1.00 PM;

Nov. – Mar.:
Sat. and Sun. only, 10.00 AM – 4.00 PM.

Getting there
The castle lies 30 km from Krakow: take Road No. 94 from northeast Krakow and head toward Olkusz. Continue through Sąspów and Ojców until you reach the edge of Sułoszowa. Alternatively, take Road No. 794 to Skała and then follow Road No. 773 toward Olkusz. At the foot of the castle, there is a car park; steps lead from there up to the castle itself. The climb takes between 10 and 15 minutes.
Buses from Krakow stop at the foot of the castle.

Accommodation, food and drink
The Castle Restaurant and Café (Kawiarnia-Restauracja „Zamkowa”), with a terrace view, tel.: 0048 12 3891103.
The best-known view of Pieskowa Skała Castle is as seen from the Prądnik River valley, where a limestone outcrop, known as Hercules’ Club, can be seen rising in splendid isolation in the foreground. The name, taken from the mythology of the Ancient Greeks, fits the castle’s Renaissance architecture like a glove. It was Kazimierz the Great who gave the order to erect a defensive structure here in the 14th century; its Renaissance character was endowed over two hundred years later by the then owner, Hieronim Szafraniec, secretary to the king, Zygmunt the Elder, and by his son, Stanisław. The architects, brought in from Italy, raised an arcaded courtyard and the clock tower acquired a cupola similar to those crowning the towers of Wawel Castle. The Italian newcomers sited an arcaded loggia directly alongside and designed an Italian garden for the terrace atop of the craggy precipice. Today, the castle houses a museum presenting stylistic transformations in European art, as well as Poland’s largest gallery of English paintings.

What else is worth seeing?
At the very foot of the rock from which the castle rises, the tomb of the January Insurgents is located. It was at the foot of Pieskowa Skała that General Marian Langiewicz’s troops of insurgents took on the Russian army, on 4th March 1863. The mortal remains of the insurgents who fell in the battle were brought here from Skała in 1953 and interred beneath a granite tombstone. Amongst those killed was Andrzej Potiebnia, a Ukrainian revolutionary who fought alongside the Polish insurgents as a volunteer.
Back
 
Facebook
  • Program regionalny
  • województwo maloposkie
  • Unia Europejska
The following Project is cofinanced by the European Union under the Małopolska Regional Operational Programme for the years 2007 – 2013