es it fr de en pl
The Jagiellonian University Botanical Garden

The Jagiellonian University Botanical Garden

ul. Kopernika 27


www.ogrod.uj.edu.pl
hortus@uj.edu.pl


Public visiting hours:
Garden open mid-April to mid-October
Spring and summer
Every day 9:00 - 19:00
Greenhouse 10.00 to 18.00
greenhouses closed Fridays

Autumn:
Every day  9:00 - 17:00
Greenhouse 10.00 to 16.00
greenhouses closed Fridays

The Botanical Garden of the Jagiellonian University, established in 1873, is the oldest institution of its type in Poland. In an area of about 10 hectares over five thousand species and varieties of plants have been assembled in departments and categories. The arrangement of the Garden today is a result of the efforts of Władysław Szafer (1886-1970), phytogeographer and paleobotanist, and an early leader of environmental protection in Europe. In 1976 the Garden was listed in the register of Krakow's protected landmarks as an important nature site and a memorial to the sciences and the art of horticulture in Poland.  There are three greenhouses on the site of the Garden (of which two are accessible to the public), in which plant specimens from various climates are housed, mainly from the tropics. The palm house contains about 40 species of palms and dozens of species of philodendrons and fig plants. Another item of interest is the collection of tropical commercial plants, such as coffee, tea, cocoa, ginger, etc. Among the most fascinating items is the oldest palm in Poland - a Canary Island date palm, or Phoenix canariensis, found in the winter greenhouse, a site of summer concerts.

On the grounds of the Garden are the Botanical Garden Museum and the J. Dyakowska Botanical History Unit, which displays plants (fruits, seeds, trunks) from tropical botanical expeditions of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries to Central America, Africa, and Indonesia. Some of the exhibits are from the Garden's collection and document its history. An important part of the Unit's work is the assembly of archival materials concerning the study and development of botany in Krakow. The Museum is in the building of the Collegium Śniadeckiego, where Hugo Kołłątaj relocated the Cathedral of Chemistry and Natural History during reforms of the Academy of Krakow in the eighteenth century. In 1792 an astronomical and meteorological observatory was also established there. The astronomical observatory functioned until the second half of the twentieth century, leaving behind a cupola on the roof of the building and a small exposition with a telescope. The meteorological station has functioned uninterrupted since 1825, and now belongs to the IMGW weather network, and is also a scientific research and education facility.
Back
 
FOR VISITORS MEETINGS OFFER
wszystkie galerie z muzeum
«
»
Facebook
  • Program regionalny
  • województwo maloposkie
  • Unia Europejska
The following Project is cofinanced by the European Union under the Małopolska Regional Operational Programme for the years 2007 – 2013